BEING A REFLECTIVE PRACTIONER

Image: (Oliver, 2015)

When we see the word practioner, we see someone actively involved in something they enjoy and do on a day to day basis, a profession. It is important that no matter who you are or what you do, you reflect, you identify, question, connect and apply your thoughts to your previous actions and doings for the future. The main question that you should be asking yourself is “How can I improve my practise”, we are studying and reading into our own minds thoughts and actions to ultimately improve our learning and development for the purpose of improving our actions in our practician.

Studying the profession of primary teaching and education, to become a reflective practitioner is greatly important, working with different ages, genders and generations, the ability to reflect heavily on my teaching practices is vital. Our world is constantly rapidly changing, if I don’t have that ability to constantly reflect on the world, changing trends, and having the ability to apply this to my teaching, the way I teach will be outdated, uninformed and unengaging with the students. I need to ensure that the way I educate my students is engaging and has the ability to allow the students to reach their upmost highest potential, I need to reflect weekly on the way I teach, is it engaging the students, is it making education interesting and fulfilling, am I focusing on each individuals learning styles and needs. By asking those questions to myself on a constant basis, I’m reflecting on what I can and need to do better, and applying this to my profession. I need to have the ability to identity, question, research and source new information and evaluate, to become a reflective practioner in my future profession, which in all maximises my potential as a teacher to reach its highest and most successful limit.

Reading through articles, a particular journal article’s message strikes me. Christopher Day presents the concept that there will continue to be a growing bodies of “literature and practices which sought to identify different levels of reflection in which involvement is essential for the maximising of teacher growth” (Day, 1993), drawing on the idea that if development is to occur and continue to grow among all teachers, reflection must take place with involvement and collaboration from numerous bodies. Overall the main aim and reason why I need to be a reflective practitioner is to ensure that the education of my students is to its highest potential and ability, through reflecting on my own teaching practices and others, I’ll be able to grow my knowledge, actions and thinking around children’s education.

 

References

Day, C. (1993). Reflection: a necessary but not sufficientcondition for professional development. British Educational Research Journal19(1), 83.

 

Image reference:

Oliver, C. (2015). Reflective Questions In eLearning. Retrieved from https://elearningindustry.com/reflective-questions-in-elearning-reflecting-on-i-dont-know

Leave a Reply

